Ruling! #2 – I Guess You Got Me

By Kelli Mix | May 25, 2009

The Scenario

At the river during a big hand I made an all-in bet and the girl I bet lifted her cards in the air and said, “I guess you got me.” I turned my cards face-up when she said this and after she saw my cards she said, “Call!” She beat me in the hand, but it was obvious to the entire table that she was folding. Should I have had to pay her?

Kelli’s Ruling

In a live action game, a player heads-up can show his/her cards and still make a decision. Until the player said, “Fold,” or mucked her cards to the dealer, you should not have revealed your hand. She clearly displayed poor poker etiquette by pretending to fold, but in a situation like this you would have to pay her.

By Kelli Mix

Kelli is the author of the 'Game Day Poker Almanac - Official Rules of Poker'. She lives in Carrollton, Georgia, where she is the state director for the Poker Players Alliance.


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.