Thread: Question for those "Actually" making money

brushout is offline Junior Member

Default Question for those "Actually" making money

Please do not answer if you are not receiving checks in the mail from playing online poker........

I have been playing in poker rooms since my early 20s and have always done well, no actually very well. I have since moved to an area where the nearest poker room is several hours away. By the time I drive there and back, I am already in the hole (food, room, gas, you get the picture).

So I find it much easier to log on and play online. I have been playing online now for six months and have not made any headway. I deposited $1000 six months ago and I am sitting on $1020 right now. It has been a constant lose $40 make $40 kind of deal.

I guess I am the only on complaining about not losing money. At this point I think I would have rather lost it than spend three hours a day for the last six months for $20. At least then I could say internet poker sucks and go back to making the long haul to the poker room.

Any advise?

J_Verschueren is offline They call me "J"

Well, technically I don't qualify to answer this as I don't make regular cashouts (still slowly building a roll from scratch and currently on an hiatus due to my current family situation), however, through my experiences as a player and a poker forum moderator, I think I can safely say I know how it's done. For me, or anyone else here, to help you, though, we're going to need a lot more info.

Which poker variant do you play? -which game type do you play (cash/SNG/MTT)? -which site do you play on? -which stakes do you play at? -how many tables do you play? -what size tables? -do you use tracking software? -what's the rake/bonus/rewards system like where you play? -because, like you say, you start out in the hole, even online you have to at least win enough to pay the rake and, on some sites at certain stakes, that's plenty hard to do.