Thread: New to poker, looking to learn how to bluff

brasseye is offline Junior Member

Default New to poker, looking to learn how to bluff

Hello,

I'm very new to poker and would like to take it up to help me learn how to bluff. In life in general, I think I play my cards too quickly and too straight, I don't make the best out of bad hands or read the tables so well, so to speak. Poker seems a great way to learn and get better at this.

I wondered if anyone else had learned poker with these intentions, or if you'd grown more sophisticated as a bluffer through learning to play? I'd love to hear how if went for you, and if you have any advice for a very green beginner.

Tim
    Tim is offline quintessential chopbuster

Firstly, welcome to the forum Brasseye (nice nickname BTW - I used to love that TV show)!

I'm not sure if learning how to bluff by playing poker is going to help you all that much away from the tables. A few self-help books would probably be a better investment. But you should learn to play poker because it's the best card game ever devised.

There's a lot more to poker than bluffing, yet it's the part that non-poker players think they understand. My advice would be to forget about bluffing for now.... learn some basic poker strategies (right here at Pokerology), play some poker, continue learning, then play, play and play some more. Then you'll realise that bluffing is just one small aspect of this great game.

bambini is offline Senior Member

Default New to poker, looking to learn how to bluff

Great advice there, Tim. A classic mistake of a novice poker player is to think that the game is all about bluffing, and to bluff too often. Much more to it than that.

I'm not sure how much poker translates to the real world: I find it more an escape than anything else! To answer your original question, I got into poker because a friend was starting a regular poker night and approached me. The rest was a slippery slope!