Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: A New Perspective

nobetter is offline Senior Member

Default A New Perspective

So last week I started playing Turbo NL SNGs, always the 30 player ones with buy ins from 1,20-5,50$. Initially it was just because I was frustrated with cash games, but then I noticed I could have actually found my niche among all the different variants. What I like about this mode is that you won't play for an hour without getting anything out of it, mostly these tourneys take a maximum 45 minutes to finish.

Most importantly, for the first time in my short poker career I see myself making money, my bankroll was getting into dangerous territory last week but now I've doubled it!

I don't know why it's so different to other game modes, but I think when the blinds increase so fast and everyone's chips are at stake I develop an odd comfort steering through the madness.

As for a very basic strategy, I usually build a tight image at the start (around 10% VPIP) and then, when the blinds get actually worth stealing in the mid phase, try showing more presence. In case my stack is becoming small I also developed a pretty decent feeling for when it's time to shove.
    I think if you have the big stack at the final table you shouldn't become overly aggressive until the very end because the ranks that really pay off where you multiply your buy-ins are #1-3 and it wouldn't be worth to risk dropping out before, just take advantage of the edge you have by waiting for the moment where you're sure to have the best hand.

Of course there's dozens of other things you need to consider, and seeing as I'm that new to this game mode I surely haven't gotten grips with all of them yet, so would be great to hear what aspects of this game mode you consider to be vital and what kind of tactics and moves are essential.
    Last edited by nobetter; Sep 5th, 2011 at 03:14 PM.